School Nurse and School Nurse Administrator of the Year

Do you know the next School Nurse of the Year or School Nurse Administrator of the Year?


Are you a new Florida School Nurse or Administrator who has had a fantastic Florida School Nurse Mentor? Do you have a colleague who always comes up with creative solutions which really do work? Is there a "Go to" School Nurse or Administrator to answer your difficult questions? Is there a School Nurse or Administrator who you admire and look up to as a Nurse of Excellence? If you answer yes to any of these questions, that special nurse may be who we are looking for to represent all of us as the FASN 2024 School Nurse and School Nurse Administrator of the Year!

The purpose of this award is to publicly recognize nurses within the state of Florida. This nurse is one who demonstrates excellence in school nursing practice and leadership in school health.  Our winners will represent Florida at the national level as a nurse of excellence.

The application for The Florida School Nurse and School Nurse Administrator of the Year follows the same criteria as The National Association of School Nurses. A full explanation of the selection criteria and application with directions may be accessed at the link below. The eligibility criteria sets a high bar. Nominate someone TODAY!

FASN eagerly awaits the announcement of our next School Nurse and School Nurse Administrator of the Year at our annual Conference!

FASN publicly recognizes the contribution of Florida School Nurses by honoring one School Nurse and School Nurse Administrator who demonstrates excellence in School Nursing and leadership in School Health. The nomination is to honor an individual who exemplifies the best in school nursing practice through clinical expertise, research and education, mentoring, advocacy, standards of practice, and/or leadership.  Please consider your School Nurse colleagues carefully and nominate a professional School Nurse who incorporates the Framework of the 21st Century School Nursing Practice ( to deliver outstanding student-centered nursing care within the context of the students’ family and school community.

Past Recipients

Mary DavisMary Davis - 2019

Margaret PolkMargaret Polk - 2017

Penny Kehoe
Penny Kehoe - 2016

Kathy BrowningKathy J. Browning - 2015

Frances Oppedisano
Frances Oppedisano - 2013

Corinne Nelson
Corinne Nelson - 2011

Connie Blackwell - 2009

Shelley Bumm - 2008

Eileen McGatlin - 2007

Colleen Morgan - 2006

Penny Furphy -2005

Leslie Adams -2004

Marilyn Wissing -2000

Patty DiBiase - 1998